Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

WiFi Shield

WiFi Shield

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 ghini76

ghini76

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 May 2014 - 05:26 AM

Hello I am a beginner and this is the first time I approach to Netduino but I am quite expert programming on NET.
Which is the best shield for WiFi Netduino?

Thanks

#2 baxter

baxter

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 415 posts

Posted 21 May 2014 - 05:55 AM

Take a look at this thread on using the Edimax Nano router,

http://forums.netdui...-a-pc-wireless/

It isn't a shield, but it is quite small and fits between the two rows of headers on a Netduino + or 2 +.  You just plug it into the Netduino ethernet port after configuration. They regularly go on sale for $20-25.

#3 ghini76

ghini76

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 May 2014 - 06:11 AM

Take a look at this thread on using the Edimax Nano router,

http://forums.netdui...-a-pc-wireless/

It isn't a shield, but it is quite small and fits between the two rows of headers on a Netduino + or 2 +.  You just plug it into the Netduino ethernet port after configuration. They regularly go on sale for $20-25.

Thanks baxter...

great idea, but when the user needs to configure access to the wifi network must use the Edimax interface... right?
Can you configure the router via some shell? Putty?

I am very familiar Arduino Yun... on Yun I can configure the wifi changing the file \etc\config\wireless in the Linux side. I have developed a web interface to configure wifi. Should I do something similar with Netduino.

Maybe for my purpose I need just a shield ... or that someone would create a Netduino with integrated wifi! :)

What do you think?

#4 baxter

baxter

Advanced Member