Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Replace analog pot with Netduino using PWM

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 stefan.barlow

stefan.barlow

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 January 2011 - 04:55 AM

Hello, first day with the Netduino but several years of experience with C#. I am not very experienced at all with circuits so I need some guidance. As my first project I'm looking to hack an RC controller to replace a pair of stick pots with the Netduino. So far I am understanding this can either be done with a digital pot or PWM. The pots are both 3 wires. Measuring across the outside two wires on forward / reverse pot at 2V DCV is 1.0. The mid mark is .5 when measuring the middle wire. The steering pot is measuring 6 across the outside, 3 in the middle with the meter set on 20V. My first questions are: Would PWM require some resistors and other components? What would the wiring look like with the proposed solution? Thank you for your help! Stefan

#2 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 15 January 2011 - 07:04 AM

Hi Stefan, You can probably use PWM, but you may need to "smooth out" the digital wave output into a more analog signal. An external DAC will work as well. The other thing to ensure is that you're driving the proper voltage and current. The Netduino drives 3.3V signals, but it looks like you may need to increase that voltage a bit. Welcome to the Netduino community, Chris

#3 stefan.barlow

stefan.barlow

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 January 2011 - 11:08 PM