Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Confused About Licensing

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 stotech

stotech

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 28 August 2012 - 08:33 AM

I've been looking all over the forums and I've read so many pages about GNU GPL I've got a head ache. So I’ve been developing this top secret device of mine for a few months and I think I’m finally getting somewhere. I’ve even got some prototype boards coming that have are about 200mm square, buttons, screens, relays, the works. I was thinking of using the mini but since I needed an SD card and LAN anyway I just put pins on the mainboard to interface with the plus. What Next. I want to sell them obviously and try to pay back all the money I’ve borrowed for the Netduino’s, proto boards and stuff. I think I’ve got a market to sell about 15 or so in my own country and who knows after that. It’s a very specific product. But along the way I’ve got help from people in the forums and used snippets of code that people have contributed. And even if I hadn’t I’d still be using the libraries that are included in the micro framework that were contributed by others. But on top of that I’ve got months of my own code and testing as well. Can I release the product to the market with having to provide the code to anyone who wants it. I don’t care if anyone steals the "hex code" off the device directly, cause if they’re willing to do that then there’d be no stopping them probably. But do I have to provide the C# I’ve used to compile it. Which one is the source code? Because it wouldn’t be hard for someone not so smart to then compete against me very easily. All they’d have to do is find a cheaper board provider and