Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

project idea: led tachometer

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 2.3euro190

2.3euro190

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • LocationVA

Posted 04 May 2011 - 10:24 PM

Greetings, I am new to netduino and have a couple quick questions about its capabilities, and a project idea to let you guys in on. But to explain the situation, I have a bit of background info... I am about to finish up converting my car to use a Megasquirt EFI fuel injection/ignition system. Unfortunately, my cars tachometer will no longer operate as it recieves a 12v pulse from the stock ignition coil. However, the Megaquirt ECU can emit a 12v (or 5v) pulseing signal that can either be a pulse per revolution or a pulse for 2 revolutions. So i am planning to run a pulsing 12v signal to the stock tachometer to get it to work, but also would like to take that same 12v signal and run it to a Netduino and allow it to light consecutive LEDs with increasing rpm. But the Netduino seems overkill for just this so I thought some other features would be good as well, but more on that later. I thought possibly the Netduino could convert that pulsing signal to a varying voltage (1v-5v) signal that can be sent to an LED bar driver. So I want the LEDs (say 12-20) to light up in a bar until just before the rev limit, then at the rev limit, have ALL the LEDs flash on and off rapidly. I can also send a separate "shift light" signal from the ECU, so I can use that input to trigger the flashing. Any advice about what ICs to use or how to wire it, or coding tips would be greatly appreciated But I thought since all this could be done with cheap ICs, I thought I should include more features... So the first I thought would be good is a gear sel